This is my next …

Today was my last day at Cisco WebEx – the stay here for me was short (16 months) but it was one of my sweetest and most fruitful in terms of work and achievement.

I am joining YouSendit (YSI) as the Director of Product Management for Enterprise starting from next week.

So, the obvious question is why am I leaving? – so, here are some thoughts that were in my mind when i made this decision:

  • Growth was probably the most important reason to make this leap. When the YSI folks approached me regarding this opportunity around a month ago, I was initially not 100% sure about it. But then the more I talked to them – the hiring manager/team, the more due diligence I did about the company, the more interested i became about the role. For one, it gave me a chance to take more product leadership in a hot and happening company.
  • YSI is currently a 180 people company but they are growing like crazy. There was a distinct buzz in that place when I talked to them – everybody was enthusiastic about the company and its growth prospects. I have always wanted to go back to start ups – but wasn’t sure to make the leap. But after talking to the team and knowing more about the role, I was sold on the decision to make the move. Besides, after working in a big company (Yahoo!) and an even bigger company (Cisco), I thought it was time for me to go back to a ‘roll-up-your-sleeves’ kinda role.
  • There is no good time ever to leave a company – but one thing that I learned from leaving my job at Yahoo! was that I didn’t want to be a in a situation where I was willing to accept another role that was similar in nature. Since there was no compulsion to leave here (+ they were keeping me well), I only looked at opportunities that represented a bump in my career.
  • Document collaboration is hot – you probably know that by now considering the crazy valuations that the companies are getting. So, yeah – i am probably walking into a tech bubble – but i don’t mind that. In the worst case, the bubble may burst, but I think the experience that I will gain from this gig will be invaluable (at least, that is what I think :)).
  • Lastly, YSI plans to go IPO soon – but of course, i did not take that into the equation 🙂 #Kidding
Leave a Reply

